Due to COVID-19, courts may require face coverings for all meetings or hearings. We recommend taking one with you so you are not turned away.

News

August 28, 2020

Information for Food Stamp Clients Who Can’t Get Through to Register with WorkForce WV


People receiving SNAP (food stamp) benefits normally are required to register for “Job Services” through WorkForce West Virginia.  But right now, just getting through to WorkForce West Virginia is almost impossible.

This is the same agency that has been overwhelmed by the crush of unemployment claims since the COVID pandemic struck.  Many, many people have tried diligently. But they’ve been unable to get through to register. If they can’t register within a certain time limit, they lose their SNAP benefits for several months.

Until now, DHHR has recognized the problem. DHHR has been granting “good cause extensions” of time to get through to register with WorkForce West Virginia.  

BUT DHHR HAS ANNOUNCED IT WILL NOT DO THAT ANY MORE. STARTING SEPTEMBER 1, DHHR WILL CUT OFF SNAP BENEFITS FOR PEOPLE WHO HAVE NOT REGISTERED WITH WORKFORCE WEST VIRGINIA!

Below, you’ll find a list of local office email addresses, the best way we know for people to “get through” to WorkForce West Virginia.  
•      Right now, probably the best chance to “get through” is to email the local WorkForce West Virginia office to ask that someone call back so the person can register by phone. Email addresses are listed in the information.  Of course that will help only the people who have email and internet access.

Unfortunately, next week people who have not been able to get through and register with WorkForce West Virginia will probably not get their SNAP benefits paid.  There may be some legal recourse, so they can contact Legal Aid for further information.

For now, we ask that reference and/or hand out the info below to any food stamp recipients you serve, and to any agencies in your networks who serve food stamp recipients. You can also access the information in a printable PDF here

WORKFORCE OFFICE EMAIL ADDRESSES

WorkforceJOBS@wv.gov

 

Beckley

Raleigh, Fayette

ucbeckley@wv.gov

Charleston

Kanawha, Putnam, Boone, Clay, Braxton

uccharleston@wv.gov

Clarksburg

Harrison, Doddridge, Ritchie, Gilmer

ucclarksburg@wv.gov

Elkins

Randolph, Upshur, Tucker, Lewis

ucelkins@wv.gov

Fairmont

Marion, Taylor, Barbour

ucfairmont@wv.gov

Fairlea

Greenbrier, Pocahontas, Monroe

ucfairlea@wv.gov

Huntington

Cabell, Wayne, Mason

uchuntington@wv.gov

Logan

Logan, Mingo, Lincoln, Boone

uclogan@wv.gov

Martinsburg  

Berkley, Jefferson, Morgan

ucmartinsburg@wv.gov

Princeton

Mercer, Summers

ucprinceton@wv.gov

Morgantown 

Monongalia, Preston

ucmorgantown@wv.gov

Parkersburg 

Wood, Jackson, Wirt, Roane, Calhoun, Pleasants

ucparkersburg@wv.gov

Moorefield

Hardy, Hampshire, Mineral, Grant, Pendleton

ucmoorefield@wv.gov

Summersville

Nicholas, Webster

ucsummersville@wv.gov

Weirton

Hancock, Brooke

ucweirton@wv.gov

Welch

McDowell, Wyoming

ucwelch@wv.gov

Wheeling

Ohio, Marshall, Wetzel, Tyler

ucwheeling@wv.gov

 



SNAP Benefit Post 2.png